Is that flyssa in your pocket or are you just happy to see me?

As I’ve mentioned before, I really used to love the Ultima series of games (at least I-V… I don’t think I played the later installments), and along with Telengard, Phantasy, The Bard’s Tale, and a few others, mostly on the old Commodore 64, I played a lot of the older CRPGs.

Much later, while I was in grad school, I discovered an amazing CRPG – Nahlakh — that was released as shareware and emulated all the best things about Ultima and the old CRPGs but which ran on IBM/PC compatibles. I downloaded it to my trusty 486 (back when downloading less than a megabyte still might take an hour!) and later sent my $15 for the manual, although I never completed it, as my 486 died.

So I was more than happy to find that Nahlakh is still out there in cyberspace in its 1994 glory. Here is Tom Proudfoot’s site* where you can download the game and order the manual.

I found a few reviews of the game, with screen shots, here and here.

Anyway the graphics in the game were somewhat primitive by the standards of 1994 or so when it came out, but quite good compared to the CRPGs of the 1980s it emulates.

The character generation was fairly interesting, relying on a sort of RuneQuest style “use it to improve it” for a host of skills.  Every character began with a least a single digit in each skill, as I recall it, but certain character races and classes (which were basically determined by the icon chosen to represent the character, which is itself pretty awesome) had better skills in certain areas. The half-orc was going to be better at brawling and axes; the little blue man is a great merchant but lousy at fighting, etc.  The skill system was a bit incomplete by design.  Alchemy and a few other skills were listed on characters but not actually used; the idea was there would be a sequel at some point which would use them.

This post gets its title from one of the many weapons available in the game — the flyssa, an African sword I’d never heard of before playing the game.  I was very appreciative of the fact that there were a large host of weapons available (although there weren’t many for sale; you just found new weapons and had to figure out which was better than the others.  A tulwar or a flyssa?  A halberd or berdiche?)  The weapons mostly followed logic but I did not spring the $15 for the manual for quite a while and actually enjoyed all the trial and error.  I don’t think the book actually spelled out the weapon damages either, come to think of it.

The game’s story line was pretty good for the standards of the times, and although I never finished it, I still recall puzzling out why some monsters bled green and others bled red, and other little clues to what was going on.

I was also very glad to see Mr. Proudfoot has not abandoned games, and apparently was working on a d20 Roguelike game & other projects that would fit right in with OSR.  Some details are at his web site.

*I’m just saying, but isn’t Tom Proudfoot actually a Hobbit name?

Published in: on July 30, 2010 at 10:00 am  Comments (1)  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://mikemonaco.wordpress.com/2010/07/30/is-that-flyssa-in-your-pocket-or-are-you-just-happy-to-see-me/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. Nice post.

    I miss those old games. A couple of my friends BITD were all over Telengard and played the hell out of that.

    I just checked out Google Images of the Flyssa… beautiful weapon.


Leave a Reply

daggerandbrush

Miniature painting, wargaming terrain creation and more

Fractalbat

A lair for gaming, sci-fi, comics, and other geekish pursuits.

A R T L▼R K

An Alternative Cultural Daybook

tenfootpole.org

I bought this stuff and read it so you don't have to.

Inside the Shadowbox

Rolling the dice. Writing the words. Pushing the buttons. Eating the bacon. Smiling and waving.

2 Warps to Neptune

Documenting the 8-bit era and the origins of geek

300 stories

A continuing mission to produce flash fiction stories in 300 words (or less)

Role Play Craft

Crafting ideas, options, and modules for your role playing campaign.

Cirsova

An encyclopedia of the Cirsovan empire, thoughts on Gaming, Music and more.

childoftheisland

Blog of writer Bia Helvetti

Taking Games Seriously

Because Fantasy without Philosophy is Garbage

The Rambling Roleplayer

I play roleplaying games and sometimes I write stuff about them.

History fetish? What history fetish?

Sheppard's Crook

The occasional blog of a closet would -be wargamer and modeller

10 Bad Habits

An idle mind is the devil's wood shed.

The Weekly Sift

making sense of the news one week at a time

HUGE RUINED PILE

A vast castle built by generations of mad wizards and insane geniuses.

inthecitiesdotcom

Just another WordPress.com site

Bunker Club 55

Another Dump of Stuff for your RPGs, D&D, Microlite 20, OSR

Lost in Time

"What happened to Claw Carver?"

chieflyill

gaming, graphics, and genrefication

Stuffed Crocodile

Mazes, Martians, Mead

Go Make Me a Sandwich

(how not to sell games to women)

Metropollywog

Role-Playing Games, Medieval History, Assorted Legends and Myths, and My Stupid Life.

pipeandscotchdm

Tabletop gaming, Dungeon-Mastering, pipesmoking, and single malts

PostGygaxian

The only completely consistent rationale for these restrictions is to say that they are necessary for the sake of game balance; the gods have so decreed it. But that is not an answer that satisfies the mind. page 8, Dragon 78

WordPress.com News

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

KEEP ROLLIN SIXES

Tales from South Zierden Alley

Wrathofzombie's Blog

A blog of Role-playing Dorkiness!

Atroll's Entertainment

A Troll's Account of Having Fun

Three Lil Pigs Painting

talking about painting miniatures for display and heritage figures

Architectural History At Sea

Richard Guy, Cornell

The Mule Abides

New York's Old School Dungeoneers

hotelnerd

This is the Venn Diagram of my Life

stefan poag

The Weird Fantasy Art of Stefan Poag

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 204 other followers

