Stylin’

If, like me, you have a blog, by now you will almost certainly have received a “Stylish blogger award.”

I don’t mean to be an ingrate. I was generously and, I think, sincerely awarded this by The Great Khan, and when I checked out his blog I found that this award carries some rules:

1. Thank and link back to the person giving you the award.
2. Share seven things about yourself.
3. Select 10-15 blogs who you think deserve this award.
4. Contact these bloggers and let them know about the award.

10-15? That is, I believe, a logarithmic function that should completely infest the blogosphere overnight. I mean, Cyclopeatron only lists about 300 Old School RPG blogs. Of course lots of people will be nominating the same popular blogs over and over, so that should slow down the pandemic.

Still, it is an honor to be recognized, thanks Jagatai!

So seven things about me that might not come up much on the old blog:

  1. Squandered a full ride scholarship in college to major in philosophy.
  2. Grew my hair ridiculously long, beginning in junior high with a mullet and then not cutting my hair at all through six years of college and grad school. Finally cut it down to a normal length in 1998 shortly before meeting my future wife. I don’t have any photos of myself from that entire period except a few where my hair is tied back so my wife has never seen me with long hair.
  3. Actual title on my MA thesis in philosophy: “They ain’t makin’ Jews like Jesus anymore.” (Title stolen from the Kinky Friedman song, it’s actually about Nietzsche and tries to interpret his book The Antichrist , especially the ‘historical’ sections, using the categories he presented in The use and abuse of history for life. I’ve been meaning to either expand it into a monograph on its own or make it one half of a book about Nietzsche and Aleister Crowley and their notions of/identification with the Antichrist…)
  4. I really like coffee and beer but I have come to recognize that don’t actually have what you’d call a sophisticated palate for them. I am just as happy drinking day-old coffee re-heated in the microwave as freshly French-coffee-pressed organic coffee from Kenya, and will drink pretty much any beer except Coors (union-busters!) and Budweiser (probably just snobbery on my part). Still, I do really like porters and stouts and strong microbrews.
  5. Graduated high school weighing 230 lbs. Graduated college weighing 280 lbs. I’m finally back to 230, and at 6′ tall I should really lose at least 30 more. (My all-time low adult weight was 207, which was not too bad.) I’m trying to focus on fitness more than the specific number though.
  6. When I was 5 or so I told my parents I wanted to be either a garbage collector or a mad scientist. If you saw my basement you’d probably be hard pressed to say which I turned out to be.
  7. Love Ralph Bakshi’s animation, and rotoscoping generally. Don’t care for anime at all.

I am reluctant to pass on the Stylish Blogger Award to 10-15 others, both because I’ll be contributing to the glut of awarded blogs and because I’d probably award it to the same dozen OSR blogs everyone else did. Here’s five that I think are awesome blogs and which are outside the OSR echo chambers:

Kaiser Crowbar’s Ablogcalypse, which has been on hiatus a while but is always entertaining

Skulls in the stars, the best blog out there on the intersection of optics, history, and pulp fiction

Sage Lewis, who has to be the most positive person I’ve ever known

Cleveland SGS, whatever the hell that is

Little Odo’s, a gaming/minis blog run by a nice guy

Published in: on April 20, 2011 at 11:23 am  Comments (15)  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://mikemonaco.wordpress.com/2011/04/20/stylin/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

15 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Those silly little awards are the chain letters of the blogosphere. If it doesn’t come with a monetary award from an established organization or an association, what’s the friggin’ point?

    • Like many people, I blog because I am vain. These silly little chain letters play to our vanity and we cannot resist accepting them. That’s just how it is. :)

      • …I bet you think this blog is about you…

    • Ugh, I tend to agree. To answer your question, the point is to drive up the search results stats and traffic to the originating site where there’s likely a bunch of ads (or worse).

      Not to say that this one here isn’t somehow more legit, but I haven’t bothered to look into it. Sorry to be a negative Nellie. I haven’t had my coffee and it’s flippin after 10. Er uh, I mean, congratulations Mike! ;)

  2. I passed the award along sincerely AND because I am vain. I don’t do ads though, it would ruin the aesthetic of my blog. :)

    • Hey, I might not have found your blog otherwise so it’s a good thing (raises coffee mug and toast).

  3. (I was just quoting the old song in my previous comment)

    …BUT…

    You ALL SHOULD READ THIS GOOGLE SUPPORT THREAD!

    • Yeah, many of them are bogus, even if those who help propagate them are mostly innocent victims themselves.

      • Absolutely. I meant no insinuation of malice for participating…

        I just wanted anyone curious to read about them, in case one of them goes ‘sour’ and gets compromised.

  4. [...] is extremely honored to have been awarded the Stylish Blogger Award by the Swords & Dorkery organization. We are boundlessly grateful to the voters of Cleveland [...]

  5. Thanks for the shout-out, and congrats on being stylish! I’ll try and keep the cat pics down so that I can justify your faith in me. :)

  6. Not one picture? Too bad.
    I remember thinking that Deb didn’t know the real you since she did not not know you with 2′ long hair.
    Funny how important I thought that was.

    • Nope, not one, as far as I know. The only times I had my photo taken in all that time was family stuff, when I was always “asked” to tie it back in a pony tale, and a few random pictures maybe taken by friends in college, but I don’t have any of them.

  7. Maybe we could coopt this trend and make it:

    Five interesting things you probably don’t know about me and Five interesting blogs you probably don’t know about.

    If those linked blogs wanted to keep it going, they could, but wouldn’t be required to. I’m nosy as well as vain :)

  8. Wow! Thanks for the kind words about my blog etc. It is nice to hear that there are people out there having a read and taking some notice of what I have to say, no matter how inane. I enjoy putting pictures of my old minis up for all to peruse. I am no great shakes at painting but the kind comments from readers really perk up my weekends.

    Regards, and thanks again,
    Little Odo


Leave a Reply

Cirsova

An encyclopedia of the Cirsovan empire, thoughts on Gaming, Music and more.

2 Warps to Neptune

Documenting the 8-bit era and the origins of geek

Inside the Shadowbox

Rolling the dice. Writing the words. Pushing the buttons. Eating the bacon. Smiling and waving.

daggerandbrush

Miniature painting, wargaming terrain creation and more

Interesting Literature

A Library of Literary Interestingness

Fractalbat

A lair for gaming, sci-fi, comics, and other geekish pursuits.

A R T L▼R K

An Alternative Cultural Daybook

tenfootpole.org

I bought this stuff and read it so you don't have to.

300 stories

A continuing mission to produce flash fiction stories in 300 words (or less)

Role Play Craft

Crafting ideas, options, and modules for your role playing campaign.

childoftheisland

Blog of writer Bia Helvetti

Taking Games Seriously

Because Fantasy without Philosophy is Garbage

The Rambling Roleplayer

I play roleplaying games and sometimes I write stuff about them.

History fetish? What history fetish?

Sheppard's Crook

The occasional blog of a closet would -be wargamer and modeller

10 Bad Habits

An idle mind is the devil's wood shed.

The Weekly Sift

making sense of the news one week at a time

HUGE RUINED PILE

A vast castle built by generations of mad wizards and insane geniuses.

inthecitiesdotcom

Just another WordPress.com site

Bunker Club 55

Another Dump of Stuff for your RPGs, D&D, Microlite 20, OSR

Lost in Time

"What happened to Claw Carver?"

chieflyill

gaming, graphics, and genrefication

Stuffed Crocodile

Mazes, Martians, Mead

Metropollywog

Role-Playing Games, Medieval History, Assorted Legends and Myths, and My Stupid Life.

pipeandscotchdm

Tabletop gaming, Dungeon-Mastering, pipesmoking, and single malts

WordPress.com News

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

KEEP ROLLIN SIXES

Tales from South Zierden Alley

Wrathofzombie's Blog

A blog of Role-playing Dorkiness!

Atroll's Entertainment

A Troll's Account of Having Fun

Three Lil Pigs Painting

talking about painting miniatures for display and heritage figures

The Mule Abides

New York's Old School Dungeoneers

hotelnerd

This is the Venn Diagram of my Life

stefan poag

The Weird Fantasy Art of Stefan Poag

Dyson's Dodecahedron

Award Winning Dungeon Design

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 210 other followers

