Iron chef adventure challenge: AD&D collector cards

Your secret ingredient...

The challenge: open a pack of AD&D (2e) collector cards, and use as many as you can (at least 1/2) to set up an adventure hook, encounter, or to stock one geomorph or small area full of rooms (using whatever geomorph or map you find online or devise yourself).  NPCs might be used as monsters, hooks, objectives, etc., as may monsters and items.  Do what you want, but make sure the thing on the card is somehow present.  I recognize that it would be pretty hard to integrate random things that could be from Dark Sun, Spelljammer, etc. … so you can go gonzo, or ignore some (up to 1/2 of the) cards.

The the first sixteen respondents I get will get a brand stanking new pack of cards to use (still wrapped! I won’t know what you’re getting!), because I am down to sixteen foil-wrapped packs of AD&D collector cards unless I open the second (shrink-wrapped) booster box (email me at mike period monaco at yahoo dot com).  If you have your own pack handy, or even a larger collection you already own (surely someone owns a mess of these still, despite TSR’s terrible marketing and the whole line’s ill-conceived nature), you can use them, but they must be, on your paladin’s honor, randomly selected.  No cherry picking.  What you got is what you got.

Your entry should include a list of the cards you used, and must be something I can read (hard copy, pdf, word doc, text, etc.).  Also, it should be as system-neutral as possible. After you get your cards and write up your adventure/hook/encounter/whatever, send your submission to me by snail or email, or post it on your own site.  I’ll recruit one or two judges from my gaming group.  I will try to scrounge up some decent prizes from among the gaming things I own but am not using, unless someone wants to donate a prize or two.

To recap, here are the rules:

  1. You email me your intent to enter the challenge, and note if you need a pack of cards (first come first serve) or will use your own.  I send you a pack of cards if applicable.
  2. You write up an encounter/adventure/location/key to a map using at least 1/2 of the cards (monsters, items, NPCs, etc.) in some way.   There are 16 cards per pack, so you need to use at least eight!
  3. Your thing needs to be system neutral.  OK to mention HD or CR, classes, etc., but leave out the massive 3e/4e stat blocks, Rolemaster skill lists, etc.
  4. Post your work online (send me a link!), or send to me.
  5. Judging will be by whoever I can recruit from among my gaming group, or as a last resort by me alone.  Judges’ decisions are final.
  6. There will be at least three winners (1st-3rd prize, plus possibly more if there is big turn out and/or great mentionables).  Prizes will be awarded from my junk, plus anything contributed to the contest.

If you have something you’d like to offer as a prize, let me know.  Free publicity for you, prize for an entrant, my job made easier, win-win-win!

Published in: on October 3, 2011 at 6:00 am  Comments (18)  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://mikemonaco.wordpress.com/2011/10/03/iron-chef-adventure-challenge-add-collector-cards/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

18 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Wild idea – could you open a pack for me and scan them? Might take too long to send them over the pond.

    • Can/will do! (May take a few days though)

  2. I’ll donate a big, nasty green banshee figure as a prize:
    http://scottsz.posterous.com/post/9661846877

    • That is very generous. That banshee looks really cool.

  3. What a great idea… It’ll be interesting to see the results. I find that some of my best games are run based on random odd info that I try to fit together like that.

  4. I’m in. Contact info emailed under separate cover.

  5. I love this idea Mike. Im torn because I’d kind of like to do it as well but also like the idea of being a judge possibly.

    I guess my big question is whether or not you think you might use some of the adventure entries in our 5 DM rotation. If that is the case, I would rather just enter and leave the judging to you. This way I would only know my adventure and not the others.

    I am definitely interested in taking part though. I guess we can think about it for a couple of days and then discuss it before the game starts Wednesday.

  6. Well, I already have a pack, so there’s no reason not to do this. ;) Do you have a deadline for entries?

    • Deadlines…right. I’m thinking it would be some time in November, like the second week. Then take a week for judging — I’m thinking most entries will be electorinc but just in case I’d want time to make copies ofr the judges. So let’s say the tenative deadline is November 4, and winners announced on Armistice Day/Veteran’s Day (Nov. 11).

  7. Oh man. I am totally in. This is a lot like something I have been thinking about doing with Magic the Gathering cards for a long time (use them as random adventure seeds). I would need a pack of cards, but I pledge to use EVERY CARD if I am still within the first 16 who gets a pack. I am nothing if not gonzo as a DM, so this shouldn’t be hard.

  8. BTW, I am not sure how to email you to request the card pack – I can’t seem to find your contact info anywhere on here. Could you email me at carlgnash@gmail.com and I will reply with address? I am totally willing to pay for S/H, or in lieu of that I could offer up a sweet prize… I have a few duplicates in my RPG collection, let me see… how about a copy of the AD&D 1e DM’s guide (revised edition, with the Easley cover of a cloaked figure opening a double door)?

  9. I’ll contribute a Zombie Fluxx.

    • Awesome, that’s very generous.

  10. Are there packs still available?

    • Yes, but I don’t know when I’ll be getting to the post office again. Scans ok?

      • Scans are okay!

  11. Is this still open? I am interested.

  12. [...] can see the challenge here. When I got my cards, every one was a character, and they spanned from 3rd to 17th level across [...]


Leave a Reply

Cirsova

An encyclopedia of the Cirsovan empire, thoughts on Gaming, Music and more.

2 Warps to Neptune

Documenting the 8-bit era and the origins of geek

Inside the Shadowbox

Rolling the dice. Writing the words. Pushing the buttons. Eating the bacon. Smiling and waving.

daggerandbrush

Miniature painting, wargaming terrain creation and more

Interesting Literature

A Library of Literary Interestingness

Fractalbat

A lair for gaming, sci-fi, comics, and other geekish pursuits.

A R T L▼R K

An Alternative Cultural Daybook

tenfootpole.org

I bought this stuff and read it so you don't have to.

300 stories

A continuing mission to produce flash fiction stories in 300 words (or less)

Role Play Craft

Crafting ideas, options, and modules for your role playing campaign.

childoftheisland

Blog of writer Bia Helvetti

Taking Games Seriously

Because Fantasy without Philosophy is Garbage

The Rambling Roleplayer

I play roleplaying games and sometimes I write stuff about them.

History fetish? What history fetish?

Sheppard's Crook

The occasional blog of a closet would -be wargamer and modeller

10 Bad Habits

An idle mind is the devil's wood shed.

The Weekly Sift

making sense of the news one week at a time

HUGE RUINED PILE

A vast castle built by generations of mad wizards and insane geniuses.

inthecitiesdotcom

Just another WordPress.com site

Bunker Club 55

Another Dump of Stuff for your RPGs, D&D, Microlite 20, OSR

Lost in Time

"What happened to Claw Carver?"

chieflyill

gaming, graphics, and genrefication

Stuffed Crocodile

Mazes, Martians, Mead

Metropollywog

Role-Playing Games, Medieval History, Assorted Legends and Myths, and My Stupid Life.

pipeandscotchdm

Tabletop gaming, Dungeon-Mastering, pipesmoking, and single malts

WordPress.com News

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

KEEP ROLLIN SIXES

Tales from South Zierden Alley

Wrathofzombie's Blog

A blog of Role-playing Dorkiness!

Atroll's Entertainment

A Troll's Account of Having Fun

Three Lil Pigs Painting

talking about painting miniatures for display and heritage figures

The Mule Abides

New York's Old School Dungeoneers

hotelnerd

This is the Venn Diagram of my Life

stefan poag

The Weird Fantasy Art of Stefan Poag

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 210 other followers

