Wishbook Web

Some time ago I saw a blog posting (I can’t recall where) headlined something like “My first games store was not a games store,” about how you used to be able to find D&D books and figures in department stores like Sears.  I distinctly remember my brother & I going to the Sears hardware store with my dad and finding Grenadier AD&D figures on a rack somewhere near the power tools(!?), which is the only place I’ve EVER seen Grenadier AD&D blisters.  A true hobby shop in town also had some D&D stuff very prominently displayed near the front,  lots of Heritage Models stuff including pre-painted figures and mini-games with plastics figures based on the lead minis, and most importantly open Grenadier boxes under the counter which they sold for $1 a piece — just the right price point for a kid’s allowance.

Anyway that made me remember that when my brother & I first learned about the Heritage adventure games, it was from a Montgomery Ward catalog.  (I remember a Jefferson Ward in town but I don’t think they were exactly the same.)  Hack Slash, another D&D blog, posted a Sears catalog page from WishbookWeb, an amazing nostalgia site, and so I checked the period Ward and — bingo!  Check out page 490 of the 1981 Ward catalog:

Yep, there is some awesomeness here indeed.  Dark Tower, the game with a commercial narrated by Orson Wells and some of the most amazing art ever, not to mention play that still holds up.  (Sadly, this game was quickly pulled, not because it didn’t sell well — it did — but because of an IP lawsuit).  Note also the electronic Dungeons & Dragons game.  I still have working copy but I don’t know if I EVER played the game through to the end, it was very abstract.  Anyway note the Heritage sets on the bottom of the page. (They helpfully note the figures can be used with Dark Tower and the electronic game too!  I suppose that is true, in a way, but I never did.)  I notice the Caverns of Doom aren’t mentioned, but I think they were released just after the Crypt of the Sorcerer.  I love that they share the page with a Ouija board!

What surprised me, though, is an item on page 23 of the same catalog which I don’t think I’ve ever seen before.  It looks like a diorama set with Heritage miniatures, and says it is exclusive to Ward, but I think the cardboard diorama may have been sold separately by Heritage at some point:

At $27.99 that was quite a pricey set.  14 figures are mentioned, but no paints.  Some of the figures are recognizable, particularly the Crypt sorcerer in the inset.  Rules are mentioned too, but no map, so I can’t say whether this would be some other Heritage rule set or what.

Oh, and here is something I had completely forgotten about, and will be haunted by in my nightmares:

We laugh and squirt water!  We laugh and float, disembodied, down the hall and creep into your room while you sleep!  You’ll notice they all have the same horrific cretin/Baba Yaga face, with different costumes.  WTF?

Published in: on November 28, 2009 at 2:18 pm  Comments (2)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://mikemonaco.wordpress.com/2009/11/28/wishbook-web/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. omg i all most shit myself when i saw those old man squirter things …they used to terrify me as a child also..people would hang them on doors..i had comepletely forgoteen them till now!!thanks.. yes the oujia board is funny! the satanic panic was right around the corner! love olde minis great post

  2. […] I hope everyone reading this has a great holiday. If you feel like leaving a comment, tell us about a gift you got that introduced you, or lead you deeper into, in the hobby, or else just a favorite dorkery-related item from yesteryear. Maybe something you’ll find in the “Wishbook“. […]


Leave a Reply

This Stuff is REALLY Cool

Young scholars enthusiastic to tell you about COOL RESEARCH STUFF

Fail Squad Games

Tabletop RPG Products

Cigar Box Battle

An online resource blog for gamers and geeks focused on wargames miniatures and board games and role playing games

terribleminds: chuck wendig

Chuck Wendig: Freelance Penmonkey

Save Vs. Dragon

"We are here on Earth to fart around. Don't let anybody tell you any different."--Kurt Vonnegut

POWER WORD KILL

Old School Roleplaying and related musings

Hobgoblin Orange

My return to the world of miniature figure painting and RPGs

booksandopinions.com

The Book Reviews You Can Trust!

Dawn of the Lead

Zombies and Miniature Wargaming

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

hosercanadian

Miniature Motivation

Take On Rules

Jeremy Friesen - a poor soul consumed by gaming.

Age of Dusk

Roleplaying, reviews and associated paraphernalia.

Roll to Disbelieve

"We are here on Earth to fart around. Don't let anybody tell you any different."--Kurt Vonnegut

A Book of Creatures

A Complete Guide to Entities of Myth, Legend, and Folklore

Making the Past

Diary of an apprentice swordsmith

Ancient & Medieval Wargaming

Using De Bellis Antiquitatis, with the odd diversion...

Riffing Religion

Prophets should be mocked. I'm doing my part.

Cirsova

An encyclopedia of the Cirsovan empire, thoughts on Gaming, Music and more.

2 Warps to Neptune

Surveying the Gen X landscape and the origins of geek

Inside the Shadowbox

Rolling the dice. Writing the words. Pushing the buttons. Eating the bacon. Smiling and waving.

daggerandbrush

Miniature painting, wargaming terrain creation and more

Fractalbat

A lair for gaming, sci-fi, comics, and other geekish pursuits.

tenfootpole.org

I bought this stuff and read it so you don't have to.

Role Play Craft

Crafting ideas, options, and modules for your role playing campaign.

The Rambling Roleplayer

A collection of advice, essays, and rambling rants about tabletop gaming and other geekiness. Often updated Monday-ishly.

Sheppard's Crook

The occasional blog of a closet would -be wargamer and modeller

10 Bad Habits

Probably not the Justin Howe you were looking for

The Weekly Sift

making sense of the news one week at a time

inthecitiesdotcom

Just another WordPress.com site

Lost in Time

"What happened to Claw Carver?"

chieflyill

gaming, graphics, and genrefication

Stuffed Crocodile

Mazes, Martians, Mead

