Other Races in D&D

No, this not a half-assed rant about how D&D is racist. You can find that here, and see it beaten into pulp here. This is another prospecting post about a campaign I may run someday; today’s topic is character races.

I’ve been having a lot of sympathy lately for the view that the only player character race should be Human. A ton of classic sword & sorcery literature and films support that, and especially in later versions of D&D (but also in other games) nonhumans just get too many benefits and too few drawbacks. (4e actually makes humans pretty good though.) AD&D’s level limits got it right, IMO, denying the very highest levels to nonhumans, but that is another post. (C&C does a good job too, giving nonhumans a big disadvantage in that they will have only two “prime” abilities with good saves & target numbers for checks, while humans get to pick three, although I’d rather see level limits.)

In any “realistic” setting, having scads of demi-human and humanoid races only makes sense if they all fill very different niches (underground vs. jungle vs. arctic vs. aquatic, say). Looking at human evolution on our planet, there were some times when more than one pre-human or near-human species existed at the same time as others, but as far as I can tell these were brief and had limited contact. Certainly the movie Quest for fire gives a plausible scenario of inter-species predation. I really can’t imagine halflings “evolving” parallel to humans without being wiped out or enslaved, for example, or that the dwarf-goblin wars of extermination would end without the genocide of one or the other. So you really need to have the various races come from different worlds, like the Norse conception of Midgard vs. Jotunheim vs. Alfheim etc., or something like Tolkien’s story of elves arriving from a different continent, and other races being created by evil demigods (well, something like that). So yeah, the various races can only be there because of the world’s fantastic elements, and should all have some connection with the supernatural, which I’m thinking means they are new arrivals (aliens, created fairly recently, etc.) or refugees from parallel worlds like Alfheim, Svartalfheim, Jotunheim, etc. I think my world will not lean too heavily on Tolkien. Not because I don’t like JRRT, of course, but because I’d like to go for a different feel. And yet I don’t want to wander off too far into Arduin country; I ‘d like to use my existing miniatures!

One thing that makes D&D’s sources in Tolkien unmistakable are the standard races. Humans, elves, dwarves, and hobbits halflings all are instantly recognizable from the Fellowship of the Ring. Even half-elves and half-orcs are from Tolkien, right? Only gnomes, and the various races introduced in 4e seem to look outside Tolkien for inspiration.

Well, yes and no. Tolkien, after all, is largely mining the existing European folklore. He certainly presents his own vision of elves and trolls and dwarves and goblins, and his hobbits and orcs are highly original. But, it would not be hard to construct a set of player races very similar (mechanically) to the existing D&D player races, and given my affection for Poul Anderson’s Broken sword, I’ll present one possible set of races (which may in fact be the ones I’d use if/when I pull the trigger and start DMing). At this point I imagine a mix of elements from Anderson, Norse myth, general folklore, and the Ultima computer games. What I’ve read about Jeff Rient’s Beyond Vinland campaign, and of course James M.’s Dwimmermount, are influences too.

Humans: well, obviously these can pretty much be left alone. Maybe provide a few cultures to choose from, like your Vikings and whatnot.

High Elves: Take D&D Elves, mostly unchanged, but make them unable to tolerate iron and steel. They’d be immortal and live apart from humans, but a few would choose to go adventuring, either out of boredom or because they’ve been exiled, or some other reason. Elves would obviously need to find other metals to use, so analogues to bronze and titanium would be likely.

(Elves ala Rankin-Bass)

Dark Elves: Rather than steal Gygax’s Drow (which I never thought should be a player race anyway), how about making them twisted little fairy folk, about the size and shape of folkloric goblins?

(Arthur Rackham’s Rumplestilskin — a dark elf)

These in effect would be pretty much the stand-ins for the Halfling role (small, sneaky, agile). I’m not sure if I’d even bother changing them mechanically in the game — just rebrand Halflings as Dark Elves, and make them more inclined to chaos than law.

Dwarves: These hardly need to be touched either. I love what James M. and his group have done with them — Dwimmermount dwarves are sexless earth elementals who carve their young from stone, and their apparent greed is actually the need for gems and gold to either create their own young or repay their parent. I think I’d probably keep them more Norse though. Live underground, famous as smiths/crafters, highly magical (so they can also be magic-users). I’d probably keep most of their mechanics from D&D, just drop the magic resistance and magic item failure stuff.

(Trampier’s classic dwarves)

Changelings: Basically following various folkloric ideas, these would replace half-orcs and half-elves. Changelings are the offspring of elves, trolls, goblins, etc. which are left in place of a stolen human child. These sometimes just die or turn out to be animated dolls, but some are members of their parent race. Being raised as humans, and looking somewhat human, these may be raised by their human “parents,” either because they don’t recognize the switch, or because they pity it, or in hopes their child will be returned some day, or whatever.

(A changeling is “born”)

Most changelings disappear shortly after their nature becomes apparent; player changelings are that superior 10% who can “pass” for odd or ugly humans. I guess I’m thinking along the lines of “Pickman’s model” and The broken sword. Changelings descended from goblins, dwarves, trolls, giants or other humanoids would use half-orc mechanics; those descended from elves or fairies would use half-elf mechanics. Humans raised by fairies or trolls would similarly use half-elf or half-orc rules — some of the other race has rubbed off on them.

(A human-born changeling with her adoptive troll parents)

The big advantage chagelings of either sort would have, as opposed to “born” elves or trolls, would be an ability to tolerate steel and iron.

Gnomes: I never cared much for the “tinker gnomes” of AD&D 2e and Dragonlance. I’d rather have gnomes be like the gnomes in the famous (infamous?) book by Huyget & Poortvliet.

So they remain forest-dwelling, with some natural magic like the ability to speak to animals. And they’d be very small, like 1-2 feet tall. Being supernatural they’d still have considerable strength, but obviously not the strength of a human.

Well, that gives a fairly consistent picture of D&D-style races without leaning on Tolkien and (Dog forbid!) Dragonlance.

UPDATE (June 8th) : Some more ideas along these lines are here.
UPDATE (July 17th): These races are ported to a house-ruled version of D&D, taking the “primes”/SIEGE system of Castles & Crusades and the race-as-class idea from B/X D&D (and the simulacras  Labyrinth Lord and Basic Fantasy), here.

Published in: on February 23, 2010 at 3:24 am  Comments (11)  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://mikemonaco.wordpress.com/2010/02/23/other-races-in-dd/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

11 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. […] Day. You missed it, didn’t you? Don’t worry, Mr. Monaco has your back! Don’t miss his post on racism. We all know that those damned dwarves are trouble, and Elves just outsource everything to the […]

  2. I’m with you regarding Humans as the only playable PC race. While Swords and Sorcery style fiction inspires much of D&D, the mixed race/class parties of D&D seem to run contrary to that. Eh, I dunno. Whatever works for each group, I guess. 🙂

    • Yeah, I can encourage human PCs but I know my gaming group likes their demi-humans. And in all honesty I love playing half-orcs. So I think changing the demis a little makes a good compromise and reinforces they aren’t just humans with funny ears/beards/feet.

  3. I think if you want to do more traditional S&S than drop all races but humans and keep your race discripstion for NPCs. The discriptions are cool but have more of a “good” monster feel. Why not have dwarves only as a source to buy magic items.

    Personally I wish I had done my wizards and warriors (as the only classes) and no no humans. But the way it is now is ok too

  4. […] races in D&D part two: some crunch My musings on how to move a little bit away from strictly Tolkien demihumans — without descending into the anime style of 4th ed. D&D — have been a consistently […]

  5. I am taking the concept that PCs should be mostly human in my campaign setting that is under development, and mostly for similar reasons you post here.

    One point you raise that I never thought about was how these races would “evolve” alongside each other. The standard fantasy, D&D-esque setting is focused on the present, just putting these races in the world together with little regard to how their histories interact. I agree, racial enemies would probably find a way to exterminate each other and cultures have been assimilated throughout history both through violent and non-violent means.

    I will have to rethink my own conceptions of race…

  6. “I really can’t imagine halflings “evolving” parallel to humans without being wiped out or enslaved”

    I’ve always sort of assumed that’s why they evolved excellent hiding skills and lethal instinct with missile weapons – to level the playing field.

  7. Gnomes were mentioned in the History of MiddleEarth essays (which I only know because I was writing a fanfic and needed some pre-history. Yay research). I believe they were called Noldori and were an offshoot of the elves. You might have mentioned that in the second half of your blog but again, I’m doing research – this time for my own D&D campaign – and this wasn’t what I was looking for. Interesting though. And well done.

  8. I was doing some random surfing yesterday when I came across your site. I was mostly looking for stuff about Normans but I just kept reading and reading (you are now in my Favourites!). Anyway, to get to the point, my gaming buddies and I were discussing races in fantasy RPGs a few months ago and wrote up our conclusions. You may (or may not) want to have a read…
    http://littleodo.blogspot.com/2010/09/how-can-fantasy-land-work.html

    Regards,
    Little Odo

    • Thanks, man. I’ll check it out.

  9. Funny, I stumbled upon your post in the midst of writing up a post on Gnomes. Definitely “the forgotten race”, or maybe “the ignored race” for the most part.

    I think they are best understood as a playable version of the “wee folk”, like big leprechauns. Illusion-making tricksters who are obsessed with gems and drinking and song. Here is my post on them:

    http://oldschoolpsionics.blogspot.com/2011/02/gnomes-better-than-you-think-overview.html


Leave a Reply

This Stuff is REALLY Cool

Young scholars enthusiastic to tell you about COOL RESEARCH STUFF

Fail Squad Games

Tabletop RPG Products

Cigar Box Battle

An online resource blog for gamers and geeks focused on wargames miniatures and board games and role playing games

terribleminds: chuck wendig

Chuck Wendig: Freelance Penmonkey

Save Vs. Dragon

"We are here on Earth to fart around. Don't let anybody tell you any different."--Kurt Vonnegut

POWER WORD KILL

Old School Roleplaying and related musings

Hobgoblin Orange

My return to the world of miniature figure painting and RPGs

booksandopinions.com

The Book Reviews You Can Trust!

Dawn of the Lead

Zombies and Miniature Wargaming

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

hosercanadian

Miniature Motivation

Take On Rules

Jeremy Friesen - a poor soul consumed by gaming.

Age of Dusk

Roleplaying, reviews and associated paraphernalia.

Roll to Disbelieve

"We are here on Earth to fart around. Don't let anybody tell you any different."--Kurt Vonnegut

A Book of Creatures

A Complete Guide to Entities of Myth, Legend, and Folklore

Making the Past

Diary of an apprentice swordsmith

Ancient & Medieval Wargaming

Using De Bellis Antiquitatis, with the odd diversion...

Riffing Religion

Prophets should be mocked. I'm doing my part.

Cirsova

An encyclopedia of the Cirsovan empire, thoughts on Gaming, Music and more.

2 Warps to Neptune

Surveying the Gen X landscape and the origins of geek

Inside the Shadowbox

Rolling the dice. Writing the words. Pushing the buttons. Eating the bacon. Smiling and waving.

daggerandbrush

Miniature painting, wargaming terrain creation and more

Fractalbat

A lair for gaming, sci-fi, comics, and other geekish pursuits.

tenfootpole.org

I bought this stuff and read it so you don't have to.

Role Play Craft

Crafting ideas, options, and modules for your role playing campaign.

The Rambling Roleplayer

A collection of advice, essays, and rambling rants about tabletop gaming and other geekiness. Often updated Monday-ishly.

Sheppard's Crook

The occasional blog of a closet would -be wargamer and modeller

10 Bad Habits

Probably not the Justin Howe you were looking for

The Weekly Sift

making sense of the news one week at a time

inthecitiesdotcom

Just another WordPress.com site

Lost in Time

"What happened to Claw Carver?"

chieflyill

gaming, graphics, and genrefication

Stuffed Crocodile

Mazes, Martians, Mead

