Used book score: Half Price Books

I usually stick to library book sales, both to support my local library and to score great deal (50 cents to a dollar for most books). But I had four boxes of books, DVDs, and VHS I was sure I’m done with, so I took them to “Half Price Books” to see if I could make enough money to buy something there. I usually never get much for my books, but I guess this time there were a few good ones because I got almost $30, and turned it quickly into:

1) a 1st ed. DMG and MM (the Monster Manual has the newer cover, not Sutherlands’ awful cartoon, and I had to reglue the hinges on it, but both are in usable shape). I passed on a MMII (never liked that one, probably the art), Oriental Adventures, and a PHB. The PHB was the same error ridden printing I had back in the day — half-orcs are given a 14 maximum Dexterity. It was not for many years that I finally saw a corrected table giving them the 17 max. (either in Unearthed Arcana or another printing of PHB), much to the chagrin of many half-orc thief and assassin PCs who never had a dexterity above 14! So I’ll hold out for a later printing.

2) Battlesystem Skirmishes rules — I guess this is a sequel to the Battlesystem mass battle rules, but I’d never heard of it. One nice feature is a mini-bestiary on the upper corner of every page, showing a nicely painted Ral Partha AD&D figure and it’s game stats.

3) Fantasy Wargaming by Bruce Galloway, book club edition. My regular edition is in terrible shape and this one seems bound just as well. Coming soon to Swords & Dorkery: Fantasy Wargaming, cover to cover! 🙂

4) The Goblins of Labyrinth, by Terry Jones & Brian Froud. I have a smaller edition of this book (Titled The Goblin handbook or Field guide to goblins or something similar but consisting of the same content, but with the drawings inked or painted) already that I’ve been meaning to give to my niece. This copy is full-sized.

5) The Silver arm by Jim Fitzpatrick. I’d never heard of him, but I guess he is most famous for the iconic black & white graphic of Che. You can see images from The Silver Arm and the book this is a sequel to at his gallery. I think it’s very colorful and psychedelic. The Silver arm just blew me away when I opened it.

The above came to just under $40, so for $10 and about 60 pounds of books… not the best deal ever but it’s nice to clear some shelf space and get some new books I read and/or use.

Published in: on July 23, 2010 at 3:34 pm  Comments (7)  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://mikemonaco.wordpress.com/2010/07/23/used-book-score-half-price-books/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

7 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I never pass up used book stores. There’s a small community over the mountains about 45 minutes away from here, part hippie artist commune and part Southern Baptist ultrareligious community. Last time I was there, I found a book store that also sold vinyl (to the delight of the friend with me) but I managed to find an AD&D Deities and Demigods as well as a boxed pirate-themed RPG from the early 80s.

    Most times, it’s a whiff, but then there are those moments when you don’t mind buying less in other places in order to afford something neat.

  2. I prefer to shop at locally owned stores. I worked for HPB for 5 years, and was treated like dirt the last year I was there. I quit, but still go back every now and then (I feel dirty every time I set foot in that place) when I can’t find what I’m looking for at a local store.

    Watch them when you bring your stuff in. I’ve had certain managers who try to lowball the customer, but then put out items at collectors prices. It doesn’t happen at every store, but I have seen it.

    • Yeah, I think they pretty much pay “pawn shop” rates: 1-10% of resale value. That was four office paper boxes of books — some crap from library book sales and some really nice stuff. I could have probably gotten a lot more via eBay but I see my real options as donate to the library (and claim it as a donation on my taxes) or turn in a HPB. eBay is far too time-consuming for me. HPB is at least kind of fun to hunt around in.

      I used to also sell to a university bookstore that buys many things but they also refuse about half of my stuff & I have to carry it away. There was a nice independent used book store I sold some things to but the guy actually paid too much, I thought, and as I feared he went under.

  3. This is awesome Mike! Where is this Half Priced Books located? Now that I finally have my personal library organized and tracked with my new software Im on the lookout to add to it! 🙂

    • It is in Mayfield, about 1/2 an hour to get to from the Falls. Google “Half price books Mayfield.” It is worth it if you are unloading stuff and just enjoy searching a HUGE bookstore. They had lotsand lots of 3/3.5 ed D&D, some White Wolf stuff, and a little 4e and older eds. The game stuff is always all together near the back. They also had a pile of Dragon magazines for $.50 each, but nothing I wanted.

  4. Looking forward to the Galloway bit. I always get a kick out of revisits to that book.

  5. Awesome score, chief.

    Looking forward to the FW posts…


Leave a Reply

This Stuff is REALLY Cool

Young scholars enthusiastic to tell you about COOL RESEARCH STUFF

Fail Squad Games

Tabletop RPG Products

Cigar Box Battle

An online resource blog for gamers and geeks focused on wargames miniatures and board games and role playing games

terribleminds: chuck wendig

Chuck Wendig: Freelance Penmonkey

Save Vs. Dragon

"We are here on Earth to fart around. Don't let anybody tell you any different."--Kurt Vonnegut

POWER WORD KILL

Old School Roleplaying and related musings

Hobgoblin Orange

My return to the world of miniature figure painting and RPGs

booksandopinions.com

The Book Reviews You Can Trust!

Dawn of the Lead

Zombies and Miniature Wargaming

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

hosercanadian

Miniature Motivation

Take On Rules

Jeremy Friesen - a poor soul consumed by gaming.

Age of Dusk

Roleplaying, reviews and associated paraphernalia.

Roll to Disbelieve

"We are here on Earth to fart around. Don't let anybody tell you any different."--Kurt Vonnegut

A Book of Creatures

A Complete Guide to Entities of Myth, Legend, and Folklore

Making the Past

Diary of an apprentice swordsmith

Ancient & Medieval Wargaming

Using De Bellis Antiquitatis, with the odd diversion...

Riffing Religion

Prophets should be mocked. I'm doing my part.

Cirsova

An encyclopedia of the Cirsovan empire, thoughts on Gaming, Music and more.

2 Warps to Neptune

Surveying the Gen X landscape and the origins of geek

Inside the Shadowbox

Rolling the dice. Writing the words. Pushing the buttons. Eating the bacon. Smiling and waving.

Dagger and Brush, Daggerandbrush, dagger brush

Miniature painting, wargaming terrain tutorials, reviews, interviews and painting guides

Fractalbat

A lair for gaming, sci-fi, comics, and other geekish pursuits.

tenfootpole.org

I bought this stuff and read it so you don't have to.

Role Play Craft

Crafting ideas, options, and modules for your role playing campaign.

The Rambling Roleplayer

A collection of advice, essays, and rambling rants about tabletop gaming and other geekiness. Often updated Monday-ishly.

Sheppard's Crook

The occasional blog of a closet would -be wargamer and modeller

10 Bad Habits

Probably not the Justin Howe you were looking for

The Weekly Sift

making sense of the news one week at a time

inthecitiesdotcom

Just another WordPress.com site

Lost in Time

"What happened to Claw Carver?"

chieflyill

gaming, graphics, and genrefication

Stuffed Crocodile

Mazes, Martians, Mead

Metropollywog

Role-Playing Games, Medieval History, Assorted Legends and Myths, and My Stupid Life.

