Another score, but at what cost?!?

So I stopped by a FLGS (Kenmore Komics) to spend my gaming allowance this weekend and found a great deal on several MegaMinis packs that had been clearanced.  The “Monsters” pack normally sells for $24.99, but they had an older item with the old $20 retail price, and 1/2 off for ten bucks!!!  For 20 minis! That was a good deal in the 1980s!This is the image on the back of the blister pack, and although the paint jobs are mostly fine the really odd thing is that all the figures look the same size in this picture but in reality several are quite big.  All the demons and the shambling mound in the two right-most columns are about twice as large as they look here.   The blue demon in the second column is bigger too.   Because the blister is jam-packed with all the minis, it is not obvious and until I took them home & opened it I had no idea.  So that’s odd…I guess they decided it was important to show all the minis than to give  a sense of scale.  Anyway these figures (and most of the MegaMinis line) are recasts of the Metal Magic (in this case the HP/Hobby Products line).  I have to admit I was never that familiar with Metal Magic figures (I bought one nice thief in the 1990s, but it is lost now), but they are growing on me.  Only the fact that I already have a huge assortment of PCs, townsfolk, etc. keeps me from buying more MegaMinis fantasy sets.  And kudos to MegaMinis for making all those old catalogs and articles and even rules available for free at MiniMag.

Granted, I have plenty of monsters but I do like the idea of having an extra cockatrice to go with the two Grenadier models, and a harpy to go with my Heritage harpy, and so on.  It’s just nice to be able to pull out correct models for every encounter.

Still, while I was poking around I overheard the owner telling a customer that no-one buys comic books any more…at least not younger people.  The college age and under crowd just download digital copies of the comics.  His comic books customers are the same demographic as the older beardos that buy the minis, I guess (whenever I’m at Kenmore the other customers in the minis area are my age or older).

And it hit me that I’m part of the problem.  The store probably does not sell a lot of RPG stuff to begin with and to have all those Reaper pirates a couple of months ago and now these MegaMinis figures, all going at 1/2 price, which means no profit, and really a loss when overhead is taken into account…how is this FLGS going to stay in business?  So I picked up a couple of Reaper henchmen (the grave robbers) for $13 too.  At least he’s making a little on that.

Published in: on September 16, 2010 at 12:00 pm  Comments (4)  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://mikemonaco.wordpress.com/2010/09/16/another-score-but-at-what-cost/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I tend not to buy glossies–I prefer to buy trade paperbacks. There’s something about reading all of a run or a good collection of a run rather than spending $3-$5 on a chapter and advertisements.

    Manga is tanking because of publishers’ resistance to releasing digital copies for sale. Instead, publishers are cracking down on piracy and raising the prices of their volumes. And that’s a shame–fan translations are often better than their Americanized translated counterparts.

  2. Nice post. About a week ago, I was able to get out to the Compleat Strategist outside Philly. The guys running the place were nice enough to answer a lot of questions and give their opinions on a whole range of things. I made sure to buy a paint brush and some Pathfinder Minis.

    That is a nice haul, by the way.

  3. Mike,

    As you know from our discussion last night when I was visiting and talking to the guys down at JAC games this week one of the things I found out is how the internet discounts are making things hard on the FLGS as well. So thought I am still a tight wad and find the best deals I can online I find myself still trying to make some face to face purchases to help out the local businesses as well.

    It is difficult at times to pass up the deals but I also don’t want to see fewer and fewer of our local shops in the area!

    Example was the 40K minis I bought online which were 10 to 25% cheaper than the local shop but still made sure I went down and purchased some painting supplies from the guys at JAC just trying to do my part. I figure they don’t charge anyone to use their gaming tables and their board games so have to help out how we can.

  4. […] craft time!  I finished up most of the unpainted demons and devils I have — several from the MegaMinis monster pack, as well as a really old Efreet and a crazy-looking boar that seemed like it must be […]


Leave a Reply

This Stuff is REALLY Cool

Young scholars enthusiastic to tell you about COOL RESEARCH STUFF

Fail Squad Games

Fail Squad Games

Cigar Box Battle

An online resource blog for gamers and geeks focused on wargames miniatures and board games and role playing games

terribleminds: chuck wendig

Chuck Wendig: Freelance Penmonkey

Save Vs. Dragon

"We are here on Earth to fart around. Don't let anybody tell you any different."--Kurt Vonnegut

POWER WORD KILL

Old School Roleplaying and related musings

Hobgoblin Orange

My return to the world of miniature figure painting and RPGs

booksandopinions.com

The Book Reviews You Can Trust!

Dawn of the Lead

Miniature wargaming and the occasional zombie

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

hosercanadian

Miniature Motivation

Take On Rules

Jeremy Friesen - a poor soul consumed by gaming.

Age of Dusk

Roleplaying, reviews and associated paraphernalia.

Roll to Disbelieve

"We are here on Earth to fart around. Don't let anybody tell you any different."--Kurt Vonnegut

A Book of Creatures

A Complete Guide to Entities of Myth, Legend, and Folklore

Making the Past

Diary of an apprentice swordsmith

Ancient & Medieval Wargaming

Using De Bellis Antiquitatis, with the odd diversion...

Riffing Religion

Prophets should be mocked. I'm doing my part.

Cirsova

An encyclopedia of the Cirsovan empire, thoughts on Gaming, Music and more.

2 Warps to Neptune

Surveying the Gen X landscape and the origins of geek

Inside the Shadowbox

Rolling the dice. Writing the words. Pushing the buttons. Eating the bacon. Smiling and waving.

Dagger and Brush, Daggerandbrush, dagger brush

Miniature painting, wargaming terrain tutorials, reviews, interviews and painting guides

Fractalbat

A lair for gaming, sci-fi, comics, and other geekish pursuits.

tenfootpole.org

I bought this stuff and read it so you don't have to.

Role Play Craft

Crafting ideas, options, and modules for your role playing campaign.

The Rambling Roleplayer

A collection of advice, essays, and rambling rants about tabletop gaming and other geekiness. Often updated Monday-ishly.

Sheppard's Crook

The occasional blog of a closet would -be wargamer and modeller

10 Bad Habits

Probably not the Justin Howe you were looking for

The Weekly Sift

making sense of the news one week at a time

inthecitiesdotcom

Just another WordPress.com site

Lost in Time

"What happened to Claw Carver?"

chieflyill

gaming, graphics, and genrefication

Stuffed Crocodile

Mazes, Martians, Mead

Metropollywog

Role-Playing Games, Medieval History, Assorted Legends and Myths, and My Stupid Life.

