The not ready for primetime Labyrinth Lord, or, Telengard session 1

Last night, more or less on a whim, I decided to go ahead and run the first session of my Labyrinth Lord game.* We were going to be short one C&C player and Tom, the DM for that game, has been exceptionally busy at work, so he was hoping to put that game on hiatus until we have full attendance. Last time we played Capes, which was a fun little game, but I’ve been itching to start, even though there is TON of stuff I’d have liked to prepare first (for example, a level or two of the local megadungeon, a key to the city map, some NPCs, some handouts, etc. — all I have done so far really is the house rules).

Still, Tom found time to create a custom character sheet (all on one side of a page, yay!) and everyone was OK with a “quicky” intro to the game, so off we went.

I had everyone make 2 PCs, and start at 1st level, despite my earlier inclination to start higher and with henchmen. Thinking it over I just didn’t think it would be a good idea to introduce a new game with higher level characters. Tom made a Dwarf and a Halfling, Richard made a Thief and Fighter, and John made an Elf and a Fighter.  So, the party looked pretty formidable despite Richard’s abysmal starting gold rolls (something like 40 and 60 GP… Leather armor for his fighter and no tools for his thief!).

I had several OPDs printed out and thought I could use one of them, but ended up going with The Ogre Chief’s Grasp,** which was just right for a short session after character generation. Had I been better prepared, I’d have made extra copies of the equipment lists, as that proved to be the main bottleneck in creating the party. Otherwise it was quite a zip. I love older editions of D&D for that reason.

I should note that the module as written included five ogres (four cronies and the chief) and I thought that seemed to be too much for 1st level characters.  Instead I replaced with two of the crony ogres with d6 half-orcs (Orcs with slightly better armor in LL terms). The party managed to kill everything without losing any PCs, although most were pretty beat up. The “Shields will be splintered” rule certainly saved Richard’s fighter’s bacon!

All three players are experienced (Tom mainly as DM, Richard as a casual but long-time player, and John as both a DM & player)*** so I wasn’t too surprised that they used caution and ingenuity. One moment of hilarity was near the start, when the Halfling was sent sent down by a rope through a trap door in the roof of the fort. When an ogre burst into the room that the Halfing had been lowered into, the Dwarf leaped off the roof to bring the Halfling out quickly…which smashed him against the ceiling, then pulled him through the trap door opening and finally pinned him between the crenelations of the battlement on the roof. The Halfling was hurting from that, and both characters were run by my brother, who I guess should be credited with getting the Halfling out FAST but also debited for doing something pretty dumb for a professional engineer. :)****

Anyway the module instructed the GM to roll the hoard class (XX) for EACH ogre present, which came an immense sum (valued over 6000 GP all told, and as luck would have it, including a ring of invisibility, which is an awesome score for a first level party). I think that might be excessive but I’ll check the LL rules tonight.

Fabulously well to do, the party equipped everyone (except the thief) with plate mail, which means I can definitely not worry about pulling punches, this party should have no problems with a level 1 dungeon! Unless they ever need to flee something big and fast, or swim…

Anyway this adventure was basically a “trial” put to them by the Adventurer’s Guild to see if they were ready to try entering Telengard itself. I think they are.

For my part, I’ll try to have a level or two stocked and also get my handouts together for next session.

*I could have put it off indefinitely. Like having a child or starting a business, if you wait until the time is “right” to start a campaign you’ll just never do it.

**I ended up winging quite a bit for this, though. I’d worried so much about which “quicky adventure” I was going to use that I never gave much thought to how to introduce the mission. Although I did not even think to name the “mayor” and “sheriff” of the halfling village, I did try to make them distinct characters and either could appear again later. The module only gave one way in to the “fortress” — the front doors — and I couldn’t imagine it would be unlocked, so I added an access hatch on the roof. Tom tried digging a hole in the roof to get in, which I thought was an interesting idea, while the other two began clearing a pile of rubble that looked promising (I figured there’d have been some way for defenders to get on the roof, but that the small wooden tower over the hatch had collapsed from disrepair). It seems to me that winging things will be important as I get more comfortable with the role of GM.

***Before the game I was pretty intimidated by the fact that both Tom & John are experienced GMs, but I think they both appreciate not having to be the GM enough that they were not too critical of the game.

****See his comment below. Apparently taking friction into account makes his move a lot more sensible. I was just looking it at as heavy dwarf yanking light halfling with the force of gravity, but friction could seriously reduce the force. I’m not 100% convinced there would be much friction for the entirety of the dwarf’s fall, but it looks like there should have been no falling damage for the halfling.

Published in: on October 7, 2010 at 10:00 am  Comments (8)  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://mikemonaco.wordpress.com/2010/10/07/the-not-ready-for-primetime-labyrinth-lord-or-telengard-session-1/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

8 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Cool, sounds fun.

  2. The coefficient of friction for a rope on rock is 0.4(U=0.4). The Halfling weighed 60lbs the dwarf 120lbs. Both were carrying 600 cn (60lbs) the friction to be overcome was the normal force (60+60+60+120=300lbs) times U or x .4 = 120 lbs. The net force of the Halfling was therefore 180-120=60lbs. The mass of the Halfling + equipment is about 4 slugs (dam English units) so net acceleration was 15 ft/sec^2 less than ½ G. That acceleration over 10 distances traveled is like falling 4.48 feet. Hardly life threatening. I was trying to play nice. So I dropped next time I will break out the calculator. I feel confident that I was right.

    • actually i am wrong the force of the falling dwarf is acting on the whole system (9 slugs) so the acceleration is about 1/5 g. clearly even less life threatening

    • I have no problem seeing your math after the fact but if you break out a calculator to disprove a ruling in the middle of combat, watch the skies for blue bolts. 🙂

      In any event you didn’t say anything about friction, and it didn’t occur to me — I was just looking at it as simple Newtonian physics, not taking friction into account. In hindsight there should have been no damage from that.

      But also be warned that that I’m not amending falling damage rules and so on to take into account more realistic physics. In reality, wouldn’t halflings take less falling damage than humans? Wouldn’t halflings and dwarfs have crummy leverage to swing weapons? And so on.

      • Actually I did say their would be friction on the rope slowing me down. I just caved in real easy to be nice.
        I will not break out a calculator I will just say A-U(A+.5A)<<AG what could be more clear than that?

        In LoTR tolkien noted that halflings could safely fall a greater distance than men. As far swing a weapon yeah halflings would fair worste, but dwarves are so disportional I don't think so (dwarves upper bodies are nearly as large as humans)

        But I get what you are saying but don't say your PE brother is "dumb" (at least not when I am right) {{which is always, note the PE))

        PE=Perfect in Everyway

        • Didn’t say you were dumb; said it was a dumb idea.
          I have a hundred of those every day.
          The other PE and the physicist both seemed unconvinced by whatever your argument was; I was busy trying to remember if it was d6 per 10′ or d6-1 per yard … I think that’s GURPS.
          I’m not denying halflings would land lightly & so on, but I’m just going to ignore the physics of flying dragons and all that.
          Why do you think dwarfs are disproportional? Grenadier minis that were just men with feet on half-thigh stumps? Or GW figures that were all nose, beard, and hands? I think of dwarfs in D&D as being more like the Ral Partha dudes, or the 1st ed. PHB lineup where the dwarf just has slightly longer than proportional arms.

  3. Popular fiction also supports that only halflings can be trusted with a ring of invisibility. 🙂

    • I wouldn’t trust Smeagol with one.


Leave a Reply

This Stuff is REALLY Cool

Young scholars enthusiastic to tell you about COOL RESEARCH STUFF

Fail Squad Games

Tabletop RPG Products

Cigar Box Battle

An online resource blog for gamers and geeks focused on wargames miniatures and board games and role playing games

terribleminds: chuck wendig

Chuck Wendig: Freelance Penmonkey

Save Vs. Dragon

"We are here on Earth to fart around. Don't let anybody tell you any different."--Kurt Vonnegut

POWER WORD KILL

Old School Roleplaying and related musings

Hobgoblin Orange

My return to the world of miniature figure painting and RPGs

booksandopinions.com

The Book Reviews You Can Trust!

Dawn of the Lead

Zombies and Miniature Wargaming

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

hosercanadian

Miniature Motivation

Take On Rules

Jeremy Friesen - a poor soul consumed by gaming.

Age of Dusk

Roleplaying, reviews and associated paraphernalia.

Roll to Disbelieve

"We are here on Earth to fart around. Don't let anybody tell you any different."--Kurt Vonnegut

A Book of Creatures

A Complete Guide to Entities of Myth, Legend, and Folklore

Making the Past

Diary of an apprentice swordsmith

Ancient & Medieval Wargaming

Using De Bellis Antiquitatis, with the odd diversion...

Riffing Religion

Prophets should be mocked. I'm doing my part.

Cirsova

An encyclopedia of the Cirsovan empire, thoughts on Gaming, Music and more.

2 Warps to Neptune

Surveying the Gen X landscape and the origins of geek

Inside the Shadowbox

Rolling the dice. Writing the words. Pushing the buttons. Eating the bacon. Smiling and waving.

Dagger and Brush, Daggerandbrush, dagger brush

Miniature painting, wargaming terrain tutorials, reviews, interviews and painting guides

Fractalbat

A lair for gaming, sci-fi, comics, and other geekish pursuits.

tenfootpole.org

I bought this stuff and read it so you don't have to.

Role Play Craft

Crafting ideas, options, and modules for your role playing campaign.

The Rambling Roleplayer

A collection of advice, essays, and rambling rants about tabletop gaming and other geekiness. Often updated Monday-ishly.

Sheppard's Crook

The occasional blog of a closet would -be wargamer and modeller

10 Bad Habits

Probably not the Justin Howe you were looking for

The Weekly Sift

making sense of the news one week at a time

inthecitiesdotcom

Just another WordPress.com site

Lost in Time

"What happened to Claw Carver?"

chieflyill

gaming, graphics, and genrefication

Stuffed Crocodile

Mazes, Martians, Mead

Metropollywog

Role-Playing Games, Medieval History, Assorted Legends and Myths, and My Stupid Life.

