Happy birthday to me!

Sometimes my wife likes to find a great gift for me and sometimes she’d rather just let me buy some gaming crap. In fact I buy very little stuff for my hobby any more and she encourages me to treat myself once in a while.

So this year I decided to go ahead and pick up a few things I have been looking for, for some time.

Item: Monster Manuscript by Don Wellman.   This is a sort of mini-monster manual put out by Grenadier Models to promote their “Monster Manuscript” line of boxed miniatures.  Many are of the creatures obviously D&D monsters with the name altered or appearance slightly altered (this was after TSR yanked the AD&D license), and the book provides some description and stats for all the creatures.  Some are kind of imaginative and some are kind of wastes of space.  I never bought any of the boxed sets (at the time these came out I only bought minis to add to my Warhammer fantasy armies), but looking back I wish I had.  There were some really nice sculpts (mostly  Dennett, I think; he also did all the sketches in the book).  The book itself is saddle-stitched (stapled, actually) with a glossy paper cover and the size of a normal magazine, maybe 32 pages.  Well worth the cover price (free) or the used price I paid ($5), if you are into Grenadier anyway.  I actually saw a
decent scan of this a while back at a miniatures collectors site but when I saw how cheaply it was available through a vendor on Amazon I decided it was time to finally pick it up.

Item: Heroes for Wargames by Stuart Parkinson.  This was published back in 1986, and features a lot of pictures of classic Citadel miniatures.  It gives a sketchy history of fantasy miniatures (it doesn’t mention any of Citadel’s predecessors or competitors by name) and RPGs (Apart from giving Brian Blume credit for co-writing D&D rather than Dave Arneson, it seems fairly accurate), and it gives some suggestions for painting them and building dioramas.  So it is basically a coffee table advertisement for Citadel miniatures.  I saw it in a chain bookstore when it first came out, but being 14 years old my money was strictly for buying actual minis, and spending at the arcade, but in the years since I’d always wanted to get a better look at it. It also features a fair amount of GW artwork by John Blanche and others, along with peeks into their studios and such.

Item: The PSR Guide to Wargames. I borrowed this from the library back when I was researching Bruce Galloway’s Fantasy Wargaming book, and I thought it deserved closer study.  The contributors are a who’s-who of 1980s wargaming writers, and each chapter (devoted to particular wars and periods) includes a set of war game rules for the period covered.  It is pretty in cool in that the core rules are basically modified a little for each chapter (although a few periods have completely different skirmish-level rules).  That in itself is very interesting to me.

There are few other titles that should be on their way still.  All my selections were out of print so I had to use a different Amazon-affiliated vendor for each title, and so they all shipped separately.  I’m hoping the rest come this week or next.  The others are Darkness & Dread (a d20 sourcebook for WHFRP-style grim fantasy), Sandy Peterson’s field guide to the Dreamlands, and The complete guide to RPGs by Rick Swan (which I hope will complement Lawrence Schick’s Heroic worlds).  Maybe I’ll review these in the future.

Since I’m running my D&D game tonight, I’m also planning to give each player a mathom from my collection of sci-fi and fantasy books, so it’s not all about gimme gimme gimme.

Published in: on January 19, 2011 at 7:00 pm  Comments (8)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://mikemonaco.wordpress.com/2011/01/19/happy-birthday-to-me/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

8 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Happy Birthday!!!

    • Thanks!

  2. Happy Birthday!

  3. Happy Birthday!

  4. Happy Birthday

  5. Congrats!!!!!

  6. Happy Birthday!

  7. Congradulation You survived longer than the average ancient!


Leave a Reply

This Stuff is REALLY Cool

Young scholars enthusiastic to tell you about COOL RESEARCH STUFF

Fail Squad Games

Tabletop RPG Products

Cigar Box Battle

An online resource blog for gamers and geeks focused on wargames miniatures and board games and role playing games

terribleminds: chuck wendig

Chuck Wendig: Freelance Penmonkey

Save Vs. Dragon

"We are here on Earth to fart around. Don't let anybody tell you any different."--Kurt Vonnegut

POWER WORD KILL

Old School Roleplaying and related musings

Hobgoblin Orange

My return to the world of miniature figure painting and RPGs

booksandopinions.com

The Book Reviews You Can Trust!

Dawn of the Lead

Zombies and Miniature Wargaming

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

hosercanadian

Miniature Motivation

Take On Rules

Jeremy Friesen - a poor soul consumed by gaming.

Age of Dusk

Roleplaying, reviews and associated paraphernalia.

Roll to Disbelieve

"We are here on Earth to fart around. Don't let anybody tell you any different."--Kurt Vonnegut

A Book of Creatures

A Complete Guide to Entities of Myth, Legend, and Folklore

Making the Past

Diary of an apprentice swordsmith

Ancient & Medieval Wargaming

Using De Bellis Antiquitatis, with the odd diversion...

Riffing Religion

Prophets should be mocked. I'm doing my part.

Cirsova

An encyclopedia of the Cirsovan empire, thoughts on Gaming, Music and more.

2 Warps to Neptune

Surveying the Gen X landscape and the origins of geek

Inside the Shadowbox

Rolling the dice. Writing the words. Pushing the buttons. Eating the bacon. Smiling and waving.

Dagger and Brush, Daggerandbrush, dagger brush

Miniature painting, wargaming terrain tutorials, reviews, interviews and painting guides

Fractalbat

A lair for gaming, sci-fi, comics, and other geekish pursuits.

tenfootpole.org

I bought this stuff and read it so you don't have to.

Role Play Craft

Crafting ideas, options, and modules for your role playing campaign.

The Rambling Roleplayer

A collection of advice, essays, and rambling rants about tabletop gaming and other geekiness. Often updated Monday-ishly.

Sheppard's Crook

The occasional blog of a closet would -be wargamer and modeller

10 Bad Habits

Probably not the Justin Howe you were looking for

The Weekly Sift

making sense of the news one week at a time

inthecitiesdotcom

Just another WordPress.com site

Lost in Time

"What happened to Claw Carver?"

chieflyill

gaming, graphics, and genrefication

Stuffed Crocodile

Mazes, Martians, Mead

Metropollywog

Role-Playing Games, Medieval History, Assorted Legends and Myths, and My Stupid Life.

