Old school figures part three: some sculptors

Some sculptors have blogs, fan sites or shrines. Others seem to have moved on to other fields or gone into more mainstream art (Andy Chernak and John Dennett of Grenadier both do mainstream pewter sculptures now, from what I can tell, Dennett perhaps being more into large resin kits). An occasional project of mine has been to try to gather information on the sculptors I knew about back in what I still think of as a golden age of minis, the late 70s- through the 1980s. Of course there are some absolutely awesome companies and sculptors who came later but the old stuff is what appeals to me the most.

I’ll revise and repost this, or add posts, as I gather more info.

  • Tom Meier, the wunderkind of Ral Partha, has a blog here, and his own company. Lately he’s been working on some great stuff, including a line of minis inspired by his kids.
  • Max Carr of Heritage. (Any relation to Mike Carr of TSR?) All a quick Google picked up was this, and also possibly this, but I can’t be sure that the second is the same guy, although he is listed as a ‘dungeon master’ among other things. I guess this one will takemore than just Googling. But there is always the Heritage models yahoo groups which are frequented by some former Heritage staff who will likely have more info. <update: Max Carr has started a new minis company, Barony Miniatures, which has some cool medievals along with his own rules sets. >
  • Nick Lund, who ran Chronicle Miniatures (until bought out by Citadel) and also worked for Grenadier UK, writing the Fantasy Warriors rules and also sculpting most of the miniatures for the Fantasy Warriors line. I understand there was some bad blood when Grenadier folded.
  • Julie Guthrie does not seem to have a web site. I think she worked for Ral Partha before joining Grenadier in 1987 or so. Last I heard she is still going to conventions and sculpting minis (I believe she works mostly for Reaper nowadays).  MegaMinis is still casting a lot of her old Grenadier sculpts.  They were not my favorites (very shallow detailing) but I have a number of them.
  • Sandra Garrity has a nice interview here which includes her contact info.

This leaves out too many others, still…Mark Copplestone, the Citadel staff, and more.  Please feel free to drop a comment especially if you have links or contact info for the sculptors that worked for Heritage, Grenadier, Ral Partha, and the other companies from the old days.

Published in: on March 1, 2011 at 9:00 pm  Comments (9)  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://mikemonaco.wordpress.com/2011/03/01/old-school-figures-part-three-some-sculptors/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

9 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Awesome links.

  2. I’ve been thinking about a post on the Citadel line of miniatures. For me, the mid 1980s citadels stand above all the other minis. I’m especially taken with the AD&D line and the imperial dwarves. Whenever I play a dwarf it’s always from the imperial line. I’ve yet to see dwarves done as well.

    • I only have a few of the imperial dwarves (a boxed regiment) but I do love the old Citadel dwarves, melon heads and all.

  3. Thanks for posting this!

  4. Nice post, Mike. I have poked around here and there looking for info on some of the sculptors who worked for Superior Models, but have not found much:

    Stephen Tofano – there’s a small bio for him on the Perth Pewter site: http://www.perthpewter.com/sculptors.html

    John Dennett – looks like you have that covered!

    Ron Spicer – haven’t found anything to date.

    Ray Lamb – nothing on Ray except there appears to be an interview with him in Andrea Figure International #17 (I’ve been meaning to pick this up just for this particular interview). Funny thing about Ray is that back in the day when I used to collect baseball cards, there was this one pitcher who played for both the Dodgers and the Indians by the name of…Ray Lamb. It would seem that Ray also had a passion for art as well as pitching, which is a good thing for us. His work in 25mm is great, but I really enjoy his 90mm work – fantasy, historical, and nudes. Outstanding stuff!

  5. This really isn’t a reply,,,I wanted to see if any one know of the works of Ron spicer of perth pewter.1980.I have a signed military buckle that he made. Hand signed…for the Marines says Semper Fidelis,round circle with a 6 and these words around it micronesia,melanesia,orient and the marines symbol with the bird and globe and then says at the bottom
    from the hall of montezuma, to the shores of tripoli. It belonged to a relative and I can’t find any information on it or Ron spicer…Can any one give me help?

    • Never heard of him but I think Perth was a subsidiary of Superior Models.
      Ooh.. my Google fu is strong today — here’s a blog post including an email from his son…maybe you can get a contact there?

    • Hello ms Owens. I am the Ron Spicer you are looking for. ( I didn,t know I was missing) I don’t remember making the buckle you mention, but it has been a long time since I worked for Superior Models. I would have to see a picture of the buckle and my signature

      • Mr. Ron Spicer would it be possible for you to share your experience working on the Starfleet Wars line?


Leave a Reply

This Stuff is REALLY Cool

Young scholars enthusiastic to tell you about COOL RESEARCH STUFF

Fail Squad Games

Tabletop RPG Products

Cigar Box Battle

An online resource blog for gamers and geeks focused on wargames miniatures and board games and role playing games

terribleminds: chuck wendig

Chuck Wendig: Freelance Penmonkey

Save Vs. Dragon

"We are here on Earth to fart around. Don't let anybody tell you any different."--Kurt Vonnegut

POWER WORD KILL

Old School Roleplaying and related musings

Hobgoblin Orange

My return to the world of miniature figure painting and RPGs

booksandopinions.com

The Book Reviews You Can Trust!

Dawn of the Lead

Zombies and Miniature Wargaming

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

hosercanadian

Miniature Motivation

Take On Rules

Jeremy Friesen - a poor soul consumed by gaming.

Age of Dusk

Roleplaying, reviews and associated paraphernalia.

Roll to Disbelieve

"We are here on Earth to fart around. Don't let anybody tell you any different."--Kurt Vonnegut

A Book of Creatures

A Complete Guide to Entities of Myth, Legend, and Folklore

Making the Past

Diary of an apprentice swordsmith

Ancient & Medieval Wargaming

Using De Bellis Antiquitatis, with the odd diversion...

Riffing Religion

Prophets should be mocked. I'm doing my part.

Cirsova

An encyclopedia of the Cirsovan empire, thoughts on Gaming, Music and more.

2 Warps to Neptune

Surveying the Gen X landscape and the origins of geek

Inside the Shadowbox

Rolling the dice. Writing the words. Pushing the buttons. Eating the bacon. Smiling and waving.

Dagger and Brush, Daggerandbrush, dagger brush

Miniature painting, wargaming terrain tutorials, reviews, interviews and painting guides

Fractalbat

A lair for gaming, sci-fi, comics, and other geekish pursuits.

tenfootpole.org

I bought this stuff and read it so you don't have to.

Role Play Craft

Crafting ideas, options, and modules for your role playing campaign.

The Rambling Roleplayer

A collection of advice, essays, and rambling rants about tabletop gaming and other geekiness. Often updated Monday-ishly.

Sheppard's Crook

The occasional blog of a closet would -be wargamer and modeller

10 Bad Habits

Probably not the Justin Howe you were looking for

The Weekly Sift

making sense of the news one week at a time

inthecitiesdotcom

Just another WordPress.com site

Lost in Time

"What happened to Claw Carver?"

chieflyill

gaming, graphics, and genrefication

Stuffed Crocodile

Mazes, Martians, Mead

Metropollywog

Role-Playing Games, Medieval History, Assorted Legends and Myths, and My Stupid Life.

