d30 bloggin’: 14 is for infinity

It’s May 4th.  That was before my time but I went to Kent State for two degrees and taught there for a few years and it’s still a pretty big deal.  I saw Jello Biafra give a lecture there in 2004 or 2005, and there were police in full riot gear although I did not see anything like a riot.  Some of my profs at Kent State were on campus at the time of the shootings and had stories; some were there & did not talk about it.  There are commemorations every year with talks and music and more.  The philosophy department always has a graduate student conference (we had to run it as part of our methods class).  There are debates about whether it is time to bury the past.  I think it’s worth remembering and I have not been in Kent the first week of May in years so I don’t know what’s going on there today.

<Insert “a logical and natural transition” here>

The other day at lunch, I was reading a collection of Borges’ fiction, and the last of several short pieces I read was The House of Asterion. (link is to original Spanish and an English translation.) It’s short enough to read in a few minutes and you’ll be glad you did. I’ll wait here and hide the minor spoiler below the gap below. The post title doesn’t really make any sense unless you’ve read the story either.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Although I had not read this one before, I realized at the beginning of the third paragraph that this story is about the Cretan minotaur. I was probably primed to think about minotaurs anyway because I’ve been thinking about how to incorporate them into my Telengard campaign as interesting monsters and also because after seeing Your Highness I was thinking about a new magic item anyway…The amulet of the minotaur. 🙂

I’m not planning to make my minotaurs Borgesian, nor to make them the amorous monster from Your Highness, but I am going to have to make sure I get all my minotaurs painted soon. Unfortunately I did some of them before I learned any of the tricks ‘o’ the trade that make even relatively quick and sloppy paint jobs look OK at arm’s length (mostly black lining and highlighting, which I used to neglect badly).

Here some are:

Ral Partha, Citadel, Reaper, MageKnight

Can you say scale creep? The first guy is a little over 6 feet tall in scale.  The last two are the size of hill giants.

I have a mess of Mage Knight figures I got for $.50 or so at Origins and at Spellbinder’s when it was a brick & mortar store.

Two Mage Knight poses (the one with a mace may be a demon, but I'll make him a minotaur boss or sergeant.

Too much flash on these, but here are two smaller metal ones:

Two Ral Parthas; the one on the right I have two of. He should be holding a spear as he is dressed like a hoplite. That's probably a Tom Meier sculpt.

I think I can touch these guys up and have them looking decent pretty easily.

Published in: on May 4, 2011 at 6:00 am  Comments (2)  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://mikemonaco.wordpress.com/2011/05/04/d30-bloggin-14-is-for-infinity/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Thank you for that title, which filled me with Borgesalgia. 14 is always a sign for infinity in my games.

  2. One of these days, I want to play a minotaur who is a police detective or city guardsman. I will call him the Longhorn of the Law.


Leave a Reply

This Stuff is REALLY Cool

Young scholars enthusiastic to tell you about COOL RESEARCH STUFF

Fail Squad Games

Tabletop RPG Products

Cigar Box Battle

An online resource blog for gamers and geeks focused on wargames miniatures and board games and role playing games

terribleminds: chuck wendig

Chuck Wendig: Freelance Penmonkey

Save Vs. Dragon

"We are here on Earth to fart around. Don't let anybody tell you any different."--Kurt Vonnegut

POWER WORD KILL

Old School Roleplaying and related musings

Hobgoblin Orange

My return to the world of miniature figure painting and RPGs

booksandopinions.com

The Book Reviews You Can Trust!

Dawn of the Lead

Zombies and Miniature Wargaming

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

hosercanadian

Miniature Motivation

Take On Rules

Jeremy Friesen - a poor soul consumed by gaming.

Age of Dusk

Roleplaying, reviews and associated paraphernalia.

Roll to Disbelieve

"We are here on Earth to fart around. Don't let anybody tell you any different."--Kurt Vonnegut

A Book of Creatures

A Complete Guide to Entities of Myth, Legend, and Folklore

Making the Past

Diary of an apprentice swordsmith

Ancient & Medieval Wargaming

Using De Bellis Antiquitatis, with the odd diversion...

Riffing Religion

Prophets should be mocked. I'm doing my part.

Cirsova

An encyclopedia of the Cirsovan empire, thoughts on Gaming, Music and more.

2 Warps to Neptune

Surveying the Gen X landscape and the origins of geek

Inside the Shadowbox

Rolling the dice. Writing the words. Pushing the buttons. Eating the bacon. Smiling and waving.

Dagger and Brush, Daggerandbrush, dagger brush

Miniature painting, wargaming terrain tutorials, reviews, interviews and painting guides

Fractalbat

A lair for gaming, sci-fi, comics, and other geekish pursuits.

tenfootpole.org

I bought this stuff and read it so you don't have to.

Role Play Craft

Crafting ideas, options, and modules for your role playing campaign.

The Rambling Roleplayer

A collection of advice, essays, and rambling rants about tabletop gaming and other geekiness. Often updated Monday-ishly.

Sheppard's Crook

The occasional blog of a closet would -be wargamer and modeller

10 Bad Habits

Probably not the Justin Howe you were looking for

The Weekly Sift

making sense of the news one week at a time

inthecitiesdotcom

Just another WordPress.com site

Lost in Time

"What happened to Claw Carver?"

chieflyill

gaming, graphics, and genrefication

Stuffed Crocodile

Mazes, Martians, Mead

Metropollywog

Role-Playing Games, Medieval History, Assorted Legends and Myths, and My Stupid Life.

