Five greatest films of all time

So I was reading Zak’s most excellent post on fun size vs. king size in art, D&D, and everything, and it’s given me some things to think about, but what I’m most confused by is his throw-away reference to Barbarella as one of the five greatest films of all time.  I guess I’d go so far to say that it was a lot better than it should have been, and pretty fun to watch.  Maybe it’s in my top 20 campy exploitation films (better than Hell comes to Frogtown but not quite matching Army of darkness).  There’s no accounting for taste, I guess, and actually the more I think about it, the surreal adventures of an often naked adventuress probably just fits his aesthetics too well not to be in his top five, if he was even serious about having  such a list.

Anyway I hate being asked to rank a top anynumber of anything because how the hell do you decide between (say) The lord of the rings versus Cat’s cradle as the #5 book, or Black Sabbath’s first album versus Rubber soul for the #5 album?!?  I always need to narrow the categories down so such a specificity that it is almost meaningless to rank them.  Top five comic dystopian novels? Top five stories about trolls? Top five Citadel Fantasy Tribe Fighters? Those I could imagine.

But if someone held a gun to my head and asked for my top five films, full stop, I guess I’d say:

  1. Brazil
  2. Excalibur
  3. something Clint Eastwood directed, probably a western
  4. some “big” film series like LOTR
  5. something directed by Arika Kurosawa, and/or starring Toshiro Mifune, and about samurai

and that’s about as specific as I can get.  So maybe I just really have two favorite movies, Brazil and Excalibur.  I can pretty much watch either of them any time they’re on, even though I’ve watched them, in whole or part, dozens of times.

Got an ultra-specific top X list? Leave a comment.  For example, these are my top five favorite kinds of single edged swords:

  1. Falchion
  2. Scimitar
  3. Falcata/Kopis
  4. Kora
  5. Yataghan

More for how they look than for utility. A straight, double-edged sword with a sharp point is probably the best design in most situations.

 

Published in: on September 14, 2011 at 5:00 am  Comments (6)  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://mikemonaco.wordpress.com/2011/09/14/five-greatest-films-of-all-time/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

6 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I have the same problem with broad top 5 lists, especially since how I would rank something is going to be influenced by my mood at the time. In terms of sheer re-watchability, though, both Brazil and Excalibur would be in my top 5 as well. Brazil’s not my number 1 fave anymore; now, it’s Amelie. The (original) Day the Earth Stood Still gets a lot of re-watching, and so does O Brother Where Art Thou?

    But I was really tempted to throw Zardoz on there, too. Maybe everyone should have one bat-shit insane movie like Zardoz or Barbarella on their top 5 movie list.

  2. Top 5 Movies
    1 Outlaw Joesy Wales
    2 LOTR
    3 Empire Strikes Back
    4 The godfather
    5 Blade Runner

    Top 5 sword
    Zwiehander
    Claymore
    Rapier
    Long Sword
    Gladius

  3. I can’t help but think HEAVY METAL would be in there somewhere. It’s too bad I can’t include the old KISS MEETS THE PHANTOM OF THE OPERA cartoon. That’s some funny shit.

  4. Top Five F/SF Books That Bookstores Classify as Mainstream Fiction:
    1. Warlord Chronicles by Bernard Cornwell (this is a cheat – it’s a trilogy)
    2. Time Traveler’s Wife by Audrey Nifffenegger
    3. Oryx and Crake by Margaret Atwood
    4. The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood (possibly other Atwood novels should go here also, but these are the two I’ve read)
    5. Honestly, something by Stephen King almost certainly belongs in this slot, but I’ve never read any of his novels. Since I like The Green Mile so much as a movie, I’ll assume the book is at least as good and put it here.

  5. I like that your top 5 includes a Gilliam film. I like Brazil a lot too, but my top 5 would be:
    1)Time Bandits
    2)Robot vs. The Aztec Mummy (always makes me laugh)
    3)Adaptation
    4)Flash Gordon
    5)Any movie with Godzilla in it.

  6. I really liked The Fisher King and Twelve Monkeys, but I just find the favourites game depressing. I refuse to play favourites: there’s just a long list of stuff I like.


Leave a Reply

This Stuff is REALLY Cool

Young scholars enthusiastic to tell you about COOL RESEARCH STUFF

Fail Squad Games

Fail Squad Games

Cigar Box Battle

An online resource blog for gamers and geeks focused on wargames miniatures and board games and role playing games

terribleminds: chuck wendig

Chuck Wendig: Freelance Penmonkey

Save Vs. Dragon

"We are here on Earth to fart around. Don't let anybody tell you any different."--Kurt Vonnegut

POWER WORD KILL

Old School Roleplaying and related musings

Hobgoblin Orange

My return to the world of miniature figure painting and RPGs

booksandopinions.com

The Book Reviews You Can Trust!

Dawn of the Lead

Miniature wargaming and the occasional zombie

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

hosercanadian

Miniature Motivation

Take On Rules

Jeremy Friesen - a poor soul consumed by gaming.

Age of Dusk

Roleplaying, reviews and associated paraphernalia.

Roll to Disbelieve

"We are here on Earth to fart around. Don't let anybody tell you any different."--Kurt Vonnegut

A Book of Creatures

A Complete Guide to Entities of Myth, Legend, and Folklore

Making the Past

Diary of an apprentice swordsmith

Ancient & Medieval Wargaming

Using De Bellis Antiquitatis, with the odd diversion...

Riffing Religion

Prophets should be mocked. I'm doing my part.

Cirsova

An encyclopedia of the Cirsovan empire, thoughts on Gaming, Music and more.

2 Warps to Neptune

Surveying the Gen X landscape and the origins of geek

Inside the Shadowbox

Rolling the dice. Writing the words. Pushing the buttons. Eating the bacon. Smiling and waving.

Dagger and Brush, Daggerandbrush, dagger brush

Miniature painting, wargaming terrain tutorials, reviews, interviews and painting guides

Fractalbat

A lair for gaming, sci-fi, comics, and other geekish pursuits.

tenfootpole.org

I bought this stuff and read it so you don't have to.

Role Play Craft

Crafting ideas, options, and modules for your role playing campaign.

The Rambling Roleplayer

A collection of advice, essays, and rambling rants about tabletop gaming and other geekiness. Often updated Monday-ishly.

Sheppard's Crook

The occasional blog of a closet would -be wargamer and modeller

10 Bad Habits

Probably not the Justin Howe you were looking for

The Weekly Sift

making sense of the news one week at a time

inthecitiesdotcom

Just another WordPress.com site

Lost in Time

"What happened to Claw Carver?"

chieflyill

gaming, graphics, and genrefication

Stuffed Crocodile

Mazes, Martians, Mead

Metropollywog

Role-Playing Games, Medieval History, Assorted Legends and Myths, and My Stupid Life.

