Man I like positive comments

And spammers know that.  Usually they just leave one “Wow, this is great information, great article” type comment at a time but last night one spammer went a little berserk and left the following comment (which is obviously a compilation of comments they meant to use just one of).  The comment is signed “water damage phoenix” (although his link has the text “fire damage phoenix”).  That sounds like a pretty good monster.

Hey this can be a actual cool web site
Hey I found this web site to be really attention-grabbing! Bookmarked!
I am not capable of see this web site correctly on my telephone :(
I am not capable of view this web site correctly on opera I think there is a downside
I am not capable of view this web site correctly on chrome I think there is a downside
I am not capable of view this web site correctly on firefox I think there is a downside
I am not capable of view this web site correctly on saffari I think there is a downside
It had been some time since I visited web site with such high quality information. Thansk so much for the helpful data
There aren’t many web sites with data like this man! Bookmarked!
I’m linking this webpage from my personal weblog . this has all the usefull data necessary.
Hi. I wanted to drop you a quick be aware to express my thanks. Ive been following your weblog for a month or so and have picked up a ton of fine data and loved the strategy youve structured your site. I’m trying to run my very own weblog nevertheless I think its too basic and I must deal with plenty of smaller topics. Being all things to all of us isn’t all that its cracked as much as be
Can I submit your submit to my wordpress weblog? I will add a one way link to your forum. That’s one really nice post.
Hey! You some kind of expert? Nice message. Can you tell me learn how to subscribe your weblog?
Hey! I simply saw another message in another weblog that seemed like this. How have you learnt all these things? That’s one cool post.
Can I submit your submit to my weblog? I will add a one way link to your forum. That’s one really candy post.
I’d like to visit your weblog extra typically however these days it appears to be taking ceaselessly to return up. I visit from work, and our connection there is fairly good. Do you assume the issue could possibly be on your finish?
My sis advised me about your site and how nice it is. She’s right, I’m really impressed with the writing and slick design. It seems to me you’re simply scratching the floor in terms of what you can accomplish, however you’re off to an awesome start!
Hey! That’s a really nice post. I’m very certain I will counsel it to my co-workers.When you submit extra posts please e-mail them to me.
Hey! You some kind of pro? Nice message. Can you tell me learn how to subscribe your weblog?
Do you folks have a facebook fan web page? I seemed for one on twitter however could not discover one, I would love to change into a fan!
Thanks for an idea, you sparked at thought from a angle I hadn’t given thoguht to yet. Now lets see if I can do one thing with it.
When you may e-mail me with a few solutions on simply how you made your weblog look this glorious, I’d be grateful.

Ah, my glorious-looking blog.  Many thanks!  I love how these spammers figure you’ll respond to them if they leave unabashed praise, or else ask for help (how do I view this on X; how do I subscribe to your feed; etc.).  I think the idea is to get me to click on their site, and maybe leave their comment visible so others will click on it?  I also get lots of free offers to help optimize my blog for search engines, or add ads.  WordPress is already adding tons of ads I get no say about or profit from, thank you.

Published in: on November 10, 2011 at 6:38 am  Comments (10)  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://mikemonaco.wordpress.com/2011/11/10/man-i-like-positive-comments/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

10 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Thank you for a proper message! It cover the topic of my amusement very well!

    /wink

  2. I’ve gotten more of this kind of spam in email than in comments. I guess we shouldn’t be surprised when people try to come up with new ways of doing the same old thing, but isn’t there something — anything!? — more productive they could be doing? Sheesh.

    • I think this is something the Spam Mills are paying people in China to do. Kind ofl ike the “gold farmers” in WoW. Leave spammy comments at .5 cents a piece or something.

  3. I used to get them a lot when I first started blogging back in ’05. Mostly medical related spam, I think.

  4. I got a good laugh out of this one Mike.

    I guess my blogs don’t stick around long enough to hit spammer radar. I’ve never had anything like that. At least not that I can remember. LOL

  5. Nice post.. I am really impressed and you do an appreciative work.. thanks for sharing… i like to read this topic. please share something more…
    Thanks..

    [link removed by blog owner]

  6. I’m glad somebody finally got the balls together to tell you that you’re simply scratching the floor in terms of what you can accomplish. God knows I’ve been trying to work up the courage to say that for the last year at least.

  7. May I ask how much spam was attempted to be left on this particular post, lol.
    The other day when I went to empty my spam thingy I noticed that they started using a different approach. They tried being negative. It went something like “I no don’t agree with the attachments on blog, maybe I miss point, but organized idea is better. I no will read said blog. Keep good work writing”.
    Seriously though, do people actually fall for this stuff, how can this crap they are trying to sell or promote actually be taken seriously?
    My all time favorite spam comment is “”I am glad to be a visitor of this udder weblog ! , appreciate it for this rare info ! .”
    A blog about cows and utters, tbh, I bet there is one out there somewhere.
    I am happy visitor of weblog, have you taken note of google engine search, I can be service, click my link. 🙂 lol, j/k. Great post, it made me laugh!!

    • I let one through, but this one did not draw all much spam. Professional courtesy?

  8. I think the idea is to get me to click on their site, and maybe leave their comment visible so others will click on it?

    It’s more that they want Google’s robots to count the link to their site. The number of external pages linking to a site is a factor in how high that site places in Google’s search rankings. If they leave links on a million blogs, they climb up a few spaces when people search for “bigger member” or whatever.


Leave a Reply

This Stuff is REALLY Cool

Young scholars enthusiastic to tell you about COOL RESEARCH STUFF

Fail Squad Games

Fail Squad Games

Cigar Box Battle

An online resource blog for gamers and geeks focused on wargames miniatures and board games and role playing games

terribleminds: chuck wendig

Chuck Wendig: Freelance Penmonkey

Save Vs. Dragon

"We are here on Earth to fart around. Don't let anybody tell you any different."--Kurt Vonnegut

POWER WORD KILL

Old School Roleplaying and related musings

Hobgoblin Orange

My return to the world of miniature figure painting and RPGs

booksandopinions.com

The Book Reviews You Can Trust!

Dawn of the Lead

Miniature wargaming and the occasional zombie

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

hosercanadian

Miniature Motivation

Take On Rules

Jeremy Friesen - a poor soul consumed by gaming.

Age of Dusk

Roleplaying, reviews and associated paraphernalia.

Roll to Disbelieve

"We are here on Earth to fart around. Don't let anybody tell you any different."--Kurt Vonnegut

A Book of Creatures

A Complete Guide to Entities of Myth, Legend, and Folklore

Making the Past

Diary of an apprentice swordsmith

Ancient & Medieval Wargaming

Using De Bellis Antiquitatis, with the odd diversion...

Riffing Religion

Prophets should be mocked. I'm doing my part.

Cirsova

An encyclopedia of the Cirsovan empire, thoughts on Gaming, Music and more.

2 Warps to Neptune

Surveying the Gen X landscape and the origins of geek

Inside the Shadowbox

Rolling the dice. Writing the words. Pushing the buttons. Eating the bacon. Smiling and waving.

Dagger and Brush, Daggerandbrush, dagger brush

Miniature painting, wargaming terrain tutorials, reviews, interviews and painting guides

Fractalbat

A lair for gaming, sci-fi, comics, and other geekish pursuits.

tenfootpole.org

I bought this stuff and read it so you don't have to.

Role Play Craft

Crafting ideas, options, and modules for your role playing campaign.

The Rambling Roleplayer

A collection of advice, essays, and rambling rants about tabletop gaming and other geekiness. Often updated Monday-ishly.

Sheppard's Crook

The occasional blog of a closet would -be wargamer and modeller

10 Bad Habits

Probably not the Justin Howe you were looking for

The Weekly Sift

making sense of the news one week at a time

inthecitiesdotcom

Just another WordPress.com site

Lost in Time

"What happened to Claw Carver?"

chieflyill

gaming, graphics, and genrefication

Stuffed Crocodile

Mazes, Martians, Mead

Metropollywog

Role-Playing Games, Medieval History, Assorted Legends and Myths, and My Stupid Life.

