A D&D poem

This is from Wisdom teeth, by Derrick Weston Brown

More of his work is featured here.  N.b. I did not read his entire book.  As I’ve mentioned before I’m not really a big poetry fan (I think I have read exactly one book of poems — the complete poems of  e.e. cummings — although I do like hearing readings a bit more and went so far as to purchase two CDs of readings of poems and stories, one by Steven Jesse Bernstein and one by William S. Burroughs).  What I did read in Brown’s book was pretty good, though.  I just happened to flip to this randomly, and of course the “D&D” in the title caught my eye.  I don’t think this is by any means the strongest poem in the collection, just the most relevant.

D&D: A Confession

After Junot Diaz’s The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao

I started rolling dice at the age of eleven.

On weekends, late into the night, I’d

blow into my buckeye brown tight fist

shake the bright red stones and let

them fly.

Surrounded by a crew of stone faced

white boys who’d survey my roll

with hopeful glances, I’d watch

the die twirl and settle,

check the numbers, then

proceed to slaughter. Open to

their bloodthirsty suggestions.

Dude, you’re a third level

Elf Paladin. Use your broadsword

on the Orc battalion.

No way dude. If I want to wear

down their hit points I gotta

use my mace. Geez man I only

get one turn per round. And what

happens when it’s their turn to attack?

I lost my enchanted shield to the Bugbear

a few turns ago, and all I have is this

chain mail, one flask of healing potion

and a prayer.

I hear you man. And we all

know how Orcs like to aim low.

I hope your hit points hold Bro.

If you die, I’ll resurrect you, but

you’ll have to give that cache of emeralds

in return.

I’d sip my Mr. Pibb

and munch on pretzels thoughtfully.

decisions, decisions.

Heavy is the lone black boy’s head

in the world of Dungeons and Dragons.

I guess this is a very ordinary poem, really, apart from the subject matter.  The D&D jargon is either intentionally garbled a little, or slightly jumbled by the poet’s memory.  Based on picture of the poet on the book, I’d guess he’s around 30 years old, so he’s talking about the D&D of the late 1990s or early 2000s. Elf paladin? That sounds like 3e.  Pretzels… that I can get behind. All the dork nostalgia about “Doritos and Mountain Dew” rings hollow to me; I was always a pretzels man.

(My efforts to contact the author via email have apparently failed, so if you are the author and don’t want your poem posted here, let me know by commenting below or dropping an email at the address mentioned on the sidebar.)

Published in: on November 29, 2011 at 11:44 am  Comments (4)  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://mikemonaco.wordpress.com/2011/11/29/a-dd-poem/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I hope the rest of it is better–thought I do like the emeralds.

    This is a far superior D&D poem:

    http://underdarkgazette.blogspot.com/2011/11/if-i-roll-1-i-think-it-should-hit-kid.html

    • Hah!
      Yeah, I’m not sure this is the best reperesentative of his work. The linked samples give you the idea… makes me think of ‘poetry slam’ type stuff more than literary magazine poetry. But I’m not a big poetry fan generally speaking.

  2. In the world of the creative writing workshop any specialized knowledge is welcomed as a differentiator of the mostly similar poems people write. Rock climbing, sailing, your Arabic grandmother’s cooking– if people in the workshop have no knowledge of it they will ooh and ahh at any detail you give them. I don’t necessarily condemn this because I think it is part and parcel of learning about audience and what might actually be universal for us humans. I imagine this poem came out of that kind of workshop situation. “Hey I’ll write about my D&D days, now if I could only remember . . .”

    Heavy is the lone black boy’s head

    this is the only line that points at something deeper than just details, and I’d be interested in reading that poem.

    • Good point. The book has several sections..I wonder if he didn’t just need to fill in the pages and used some older/school material…he did go to grad school, which probably produces mountains of ‘spec’ writing.

      I was hoping to get some details from the author about his actual D&D experiences, but like I said, no reply; I’m not sure the email address I found is still good.


Leave a Reply

This Stuff is REALLY Cool

Young scholars enthusiastic to tell you about COOL RESEARCH STUFF

Fail Squad Games

Fail Squad Games

Cigar Box Battle

An online resource blog for gamers and geeks focused on wargames miniatures and board games and role playing games

terribleminds: chuck wendig

Chuck Wendig: Freelance Penmonkey

Save Vs. Dragon

"We are here on Earth to fart around. Don't let anybody tell you any different."--Kurt Vonnegut

POWER WORD KILL

Old School Roleplaying and related musings

Hobgoblin Orange

My return to the world of miniature figure painting and RPGs

booksandopinions.com

The Book Reviews You Can Trust!

Dawn of the Lead

Miniature wargaming and the occasional zombie

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

hosercanadian

Miniature Motivation

Take On Rules

Jeremy Friesen - a poor soul consumed by gaming.

Age of Dusk

Roleplaying, reviews and associated paraphernalia.

Roll to Disbelieve

"We are here on Earth to fart around. Don't let anybody tell you any different."--Kurt Vonnegut

A Book of Creatures

A Complete Guide to Entities of Myth, Legend, and Folklore

Making the Past

Diary of an apprentice swordsmith

Ancient & Medieval Wargaming

Using De Bellis Antiquitatis, with the odd diversion...

Riffing Religion

Prophets should be mocked. I'm doing my part.

Cirsova

An encyclopedia of the Cirsovan empire, thoughts on Gaming, Music and more.

2 Warps to Neptune

Surveying the Gen X landscape and the origins of geek

Inside the Shadowbox

Rolling the dice. Writing the words. Pushing the buttons. Eating the bacon. Smiling and waving.

Dagger and Brush, Daggerandbrush, dagger brush

Miniature painting, wargaming terrain tutorials, reviews, interviews and painting guides

Fractalbat

A lair for gaming, sci-fi, comics, and other geekish pursuits.

tenfootpole.org

I bought this stuff and read it so you don't have to.

Role Play Craft

Crafting ideas, options, and modules for your role playing campaign.

The Rambling Roleplayer

A collection of advice, essays, and rambling rants about tabletop gaming and other geekiness. Often updated Monday-ishly.

Sheppard's Crook

The occasional blog of a closet would -be wargamer and modeller

10 Bad Habits

Probably not the Justin Howe you were looking for

The Weekly Sift

making sense of the news one week at a time

inthecitiesdotcom

Just another WordPress.com site

Lost in Time

"What happened to Claw Carver?"

chieflyill

gaming, graphics, and genrefication

Stuffed Crocodile

Mazes, Martians, Mead

Metropollywog

Role-Playing Games, Medieval History, Assorted Legends and Myths, and My Stupid Life.

